Hedman cracks Norris shortlist for fourth straight season, Bergeron shoots for fifth Selke

Washington’s John Carlson, Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman and Nashville’s Roman Josi have been named the finalists for the NHL’s James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded to the league’s top defenceman.

The finalists were announced Monday, and voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Led by Carlson’s 75 points (15 goals, 60 assists), the finalists were the top point-producers among defencemen. Carlson and Josi, who had 65 points (16 goals, 49 assists), were the only two to lead a team in points this season.

Hedman, who finished third among defencemen with 55 points (11 goals, 44 assists), is a finalist for the fourth consecutive year — the longest streak since Nicklas Lidstrom’s four-year run from 2006 to ’09. Hedman is the only finalist to have previously won, in 2018.

The NHL also announced Boston centre Patrice Bergeron, Philadelphia centre Sean Couturier and St. Louis centre Ryan O’Reilly are the finalists for the Frank J. Selke Trophy, honouring the top defensive forward.

Bergeron is a four-time winner and last won in 2017, tying Montreal’s Bob Gainey for the most Selke honours. Bergeron led Bruins forwards in shifts per game and ice time, helping Boston allow a league-low 174 goals.

O’Reilly, also a Lady Byng finalist for sportsmanship, is in position to become the first player to repeat as Selke winner since Bergeron in 2014 and ’15. O’Reilly led the NHL for the third straight season in faceoff wins (880).

Couturier, second in the Selke voting in 2018, led Flyers skaters with a plus-21 rating and forwards in both overall ice time and short-handed ice time.

Articles You May Like

Lightning Not Interested in Moral Victories After Loss to Bruins
Dallas plays Minnesota after Robertson’s hat trick
Wings’ Bertuzzi out 6 weeks after hand surgery
Today in Hockey History: Dec. 2
Red Wings’ 2022-23 Trade Targets: Philadelphia Flyers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *