American Hockey League

Checkers claim Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy

The Charlotte Checkers captured the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy as the American Hockey League’s regular-season champions on Saturday evening.

Under head coach Mike Vellucci, the Checkers (48-17-7-1, 104 points, .712) will finish with the best record in the AHL for the first time, and will have home-ice advantage for as long as they advance in the 2019 Calder Cup Playoffs.

With three games remaining on its schedule, Charlotte has also wrapped up the Atlantic Division championship, its first-ever division title.

The Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy, instituted in 1997, is named for the late Macgregor Kilpatrick, a longtime member of the AHL Board of Governors and a 2010 inductee into the AHL Hall of Fame.

Articles You May Like

Sabres face the Red Wings in Atlantic Division action
Draisaitl completes Oilers’ OT comeback over Panthers after Bouchard ties game in final seconds
Wranglers’ Phillips named AHL Player of the Week
Marner ties franchise record with 18-game point streak as Maple Leafs defeat Sharks
Panthers forward Tkachuk returns to province where he was loved, and loathed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *