Canada’s Elizabeth Giguere earns Patty Kazmaier Award in NCAA women’s hockey

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO.—Clarkson forward Elizabeth Giguere of Quebec City has been awarded the Patty Kazmaier Award that goes to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s hockey.

Giguere, Wisconsin forward Abby Roque of Sault Ste. Marie, Mich., and Northeastern forward Alina Mueller of Switzerland were the three finalists.

The award is named in honour of the late Patty Kazmaier, who played for Princeton from 1981 to 1986. She died at age 28 of a blood disease.

Giguere, a junior, led the NCAA in goals scored with 36 and was second in points with 65 for an average of 1.81 points per game.

Canadians have earned the honour nine times in its 22-year history, including each of the last three years.

Wisconsin goaltender Ann-Renee Desbiens of La Malbaie, Que., Toronto’s Daryl Watts out of Boston College and Clarkson’s Loren Gabel of Kitchener, Ont., were winners from 2017 to 2019, respectively.

Previous Canadian winners of the Kazmaier include Clarkson’s Jamie Lee Rattray of Kanata, Ont. (2014), Mercyhurst’s Vicki Bendus of Wasaga Beach, Ont., (2010); Harvard’s Sarah Vaillancourt of Sherbrooke, Que., (2008); Wisconsin’s Sara Bauer of St. Catharines, Ont., (2006); and Harvard’s Jennifer Botterill of Winnipeg (2001, 2003).

Get more sports in your inbox

Get the Star’s Sports Headlines email newsletter for a daily round-up of the latest big news.

Sign Up For Free Now

Articles You May Like

Devils Acquire MacDermid from Avalanche for Bardakov, Pick
Rookie Lombardi finding his groove
Griffins knock off Admirals, run points streak to 15
Sidney Crosby 9th player in NHL history to reach 1,000 even-strength points
Canucks star forward Elias Pettersson signs 8-year contract extension

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *