Canada grouped with U.S. rivals for 2021 men’s hockey worlds

The United States and Canada were drawn into the same group for the 2021 men’s hockey world championships, the International Ice Hockey Federation said Wednesday.

The North American rivals are in the eight-team group to be played in Riga, Latvia. Defending champion Finland and Germany are also in that group.

Russia, Sweden and the Czech Republic will be in the other group alongside co-host Belarus in Minsk. The 15,000-seat Minsk Arena will host the medal games and semifinals.

The IIHF said the 2021 tournament schedule will be published at a later date.

Finland won the 2019 title. The 2020 tournament in Switzerland was cancelled because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Recent medallists

2019 — Finland, Canada, Russia

2018 — Sweden, Switzerland, U.S.

2017 — Sweden, Canada, Russia

2016 — Canada, Finland, Russia

2015 — Canada, Russia, U.S.

Articles You May Like

Barkov will miss beginning of Panthers’ road trip
How lessons from 2019 have impacted the Blues’ strategy this season
Oilers score 4 times in third period to defeat Rangers
Connor McDavid on familiar path that could see 50 goals
Hockey fans can likely bet on seeing more gambling-related advertising — for now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *